The Sea of Intellectual Competence and the Socially Awkward

in·tel·lec·tu·al  (ntl-kchl)adj.

a. Of or relating to the intellect.
b. Rational rather than emotional.

com·pe·tence  (kmp-tns)n.

a. The state or quality of being adequately or well qualified; ability. See Synonyms at ability.
b. A specific range of skill, knowledge, or ability.
+ the socially awkward = me, as a teen.
an individual excessively afraid of social interaction due to some form of peer rejection or personal choice. Presenting a form or different forms of uncomfortability when around others.
However, I’ve become less socially awkward.  I can thank bartending for that.  I grew up with over 100% in science and math class due to extra credit, but my social skills were null. There were times in my life I just wouldn’t talk to my peers and teachers.  I couldn’t even look them in the eyes. I was socially awkward.
Now I’m working two jobs, one being in a very social atmosphere where I cannot avoid people. I have old friends that are thrilled that I can interact while actually looking at people when I talk to them and smile!
I totally understand people that have a lack of social skills.  It can be hard to deal with.  It could come from various situations growing up at the lonely cafeteria table.
SMART_PERSONUnfortunately, intellectual competence is looked down upon among teenagers. Thus the result is a socially inept individual, because their interests are none in the same from others people’s interests. This individual gets this mindset that others reject their individuality and this person starts creating their own situations in their head that make them uncomfortable.
I’ve also seen the opposite happen to people I knew in high school. They were overpowering and dramatic to get attention from the peers.  That, my friends is also social awkwardness. There are a couple extremes, I was just the very quiet type.
Maybe some day in the (hopefully) near future, individuality will become a more acceptable notion.  Not only that, but intellectual individuals base their thought process more on rational thinking rather than full-blown emotion that you see in early adulthood.
Leave a Reply

