http://www.flickr.com/photos/studiobeerhorst/6684472635/ Flickr Photo Credit: Rick&Brenda Beerhorst {studiobeerhorst}-bbmarie

Geek Mother, No Hypocrisy

I’m all for anything tech, but I have children that like to push the limits.  For example, my wonderful husband (Love you, Jay) got the kids into the game apps kick on his cell phone. So, now at the crack of dawn, they are asking, “Can I play on your phone?” -Sigh-

I don’t see the harm in letting the kids play once in a while, but they want more of this thing we call technology.  My 7 year old even got a tablet from grandma for her birthday a little over a week ago. But, I’ve set limits on digi-play time.

We live out in the country side in a little valley, so it is pretty nice to let the kids just run around our sizeable yard and scream their little lungs out.

I’ve got to keep in mind that my kids do what I do and if they see me on my phone or laptop, then they are going to want to sit here and play with gadgets too.

I like going outside and running around with the kids. Sometimes, it is good to get away from the modern, fast-paced, grasp of techy things.

Don’t get me wrong, I love technology and where we are going with it.  But, more and more kiddos are staying indoors and playing video games and whatnot and that leads to disrupted sleep patterns and..you guessed it, obesity.

Unfortunately, 1 out of 3 kids are now considered overweight or obese in America.  Interaction with technology can be a daily occurrence, but children need to learn limitations.

I try to do my best as a mother that is so involved with technology. Besides, I’m just another concerned mom.

Leave a Reply

